Posted by: Johan Normark | January 3, 2011

Looking back at 2010

2010 was a successful year in terms of fundraising. I now have four projects running at the same time. My old project on climate change and settlement change is emerging as a couple of articles and a book that hopefully shall be finished in 2011. For my next project (on water as archaeological material) I shall expand my knowledge about speculative realism which was introduced to me in 2010. My third project, that is run by my former thesis advisor Per Cornell, shall include some postcolonial theory as well.

One year ago I had decided that my coverage of the 2012 circus would rest until the fall of 2012. I was wrong. Instead I have actually read some of this literature in paper form (and not just the prophets’ websites). The difference between books and websites is only the volume of text, not the content. I have now bought my last 2012 book and I look forward to the end of this circus. In 2011 I shall primarily focus my attention on Calleman since he argues that the Maya Long Count ends in October. Soon you will find my comments on his most recent book and other 2012ers as well. This is my fourth and most popular project (in terms of traffic to the blog).

The field season in June and July went smooth (apart from being threatened by a man with a shotgun). Several sites were mapped and our knowledge about the Cochuah region increased greatly. This will result in a field report that should be published soon. In terms of publications I mainly worked on articles that shall be published in 2011 and later. Older manuscripts were published as articles in Journal of Archaeological Method and Theory and in an anthology.

Last year I spent roughly 3,5 months abroad (2 months in Thailand and Malaysia and 1,5 month in Mexico). That will not be repeated this year and I doubt that I ever can spend that much time abroad now that my son has begun kindergarten. Anyway, I no longer have to commute forhours. By the end of the year I finished my employment at Stockholm University. I am now back at Göteborg University.

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

