Posted by: Johan Normark | August 17, 2011

2012: Focusing on academic scholars

It is almost time to wrap up my dealings with the 2012 phenomenon. I have lost my interest in it and I thought about changing focus from now and onwards. I will primarily focus on what my colleagues write about the phenomenon and their interpretations. It is also a way for me to gather data for my upcoming article that I mentioned in the previous post. I will make two main exceptions to this rule. I have promised that I shall describe what I find to be problematic with Jenkins’s use of perennial philosophy. I will also end my series of reviews of Calleman’s latest book as we reach his “end-date” (28 October, 2011). Of course, if something completely 2012-related insanity shows up I will mention it, but not waste too much effort on it.

My purpose is to expose what scholars have to say and to give their ideas a greater exposure since their voices are drowned in the flood of nonsense that surround the 2012 phenomenon. For example, a series of short articles were recently published in Proceedings of the International Astronomical Union. Unless you are tied to a university or some other institution it will cost you 45$ to buy each article. That means that the majority of 2012 interested people never will be able to read them. Topics like this should be open-access in my view. In the future I will summarize the main issues these articles and the books by Aveni, Van Stone and Stuart cover. If I do have time and interest I will also read Sitler’s book and the book by Restall and Solari. Let’s see if I can stick to this plan…

Responses

  1. I was wondering what your thoughts were on this article just published by Reuters.

    http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/08/17/idUS269735214920110817

  2. Sounds like someone trying to create hype surrounding whatever she is filming. Discoveries inside one of Calakmul’s pyramids that will tell us something about a supposed end date? Could be anything if you stretch your imagination.


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

