Posted by: Johan Normark | February 14, 2012

Charming Sharm…

Yesterday I returned from a one week’s vacation in Sharm el Sheik in Egypt. It was my first visit to Egypt since 1990. Back then I travelled along the Nile from Cairo to Abu Simbel and saw all the major ancient Egyptian places. This time my wife, son and I only planned to take it easy at a major “all inclusive” resort by the Red Sea and perhaps take a trip to the St Catherine monastery in Sinai. However, some Americans had got kidnapped so all trips to the monastery were cancelled. The weather was cooler than usual, probably because of the cold air in Europe and/or a sand storm in Saudi that made the clouds dark. It was pretty windy anyway, not the best conditions for sunbathing. Then my wife and I felt Pharaoh’s revenge for a couple of days, probably from some of the buffet food. On the final day we went snorkelling and the wet suits for my wife and son leaked, turning them into ice cubes. I can strongly recommend a trip to charming Sharm…

Responses

  1. [...] Most of the time in the country we spent at the hotel which had a private beach. This short vacation was way better than last year’s short vacation to Egypt… [...]


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 132 other followers

