Posted by: Johan Normark | August 22, 2012

Interview and new studies on the Maya collapse

Later today I will be interviewed by Tobias Svanelid at Vetenskapsradion (“The Science Radio”) for my research on “water as an archaeological material/object”. I will also take the time to talk a bit about the 2012 phenomenon and relate it to apocalyptic fears regarding the impending ecological disaster. This gives me reason to relate to the Maya collapse.

Since my current research on water has developed out of my former research on climate change and cave use it is interesting to note that there are many new studies focusing on the Maya collapse. Most of these studies emphasizes droughts as the main cause, like this one¬†where deforestation made the droughts worse. There is now a “new” study by Turner and Sabloff that uses a complex systems theory where climate change is one of several causes behind the collapse. Since both authors have been proposing the same ideas for at least 25 years there is probably not much new stuff in the study. Considering the amount of new studies focusing on the collapse I should probably send away my own articles and book manuscript a.s.a.p. while there still is interest in this kind of research. Instead of complex systems I use Manuel DeLanda’s assemblage approach (but there is a substantial amount of complex systems theory within his assemblage theory as well).

I wonder if the authors of these articles or the editors of the journals intentionally or not have aimed to publish these studies in the year of the fake apocalypse…?

Responses

  1. You wrote: “I wonder if the authors of these articles or the editors of the journals intentionally or not have aimed to publish these studies in the year of the fake apocalypse‚Ķ?”

    I assume you meant this tongue-in-cheek, but just in case not — with respect to the first article you link: no.
    ;)

    cheers,
    Kevin

  2. I did not think so either but at least four articles have been published this year on the collapse issue. Seems like Wilk’s classic article may be of relevance here. http://indiana.academia.edu/RichardWilk/Papers/85926/The_Ancient_Maya_in_the_Political_Present


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 132 other followers

