Posted by: Johan Normark | December 29, 2012

2012: What will happen on this blog in the next six months

Once I began to write about the 2012-phenomenon I decided that I should cover it a while after the “end date” as well. I believe that the time around the summer solstice 2013 will mark the end of my continuous coverage of this phenomenon (but who knows?). I will most likely cover events that occurred around the 21st of December, such as the way Temple II at Tikal was partly destroyed by people. However, primarily I will cover the aftermath and how people come up with explanations for why the prophecy was not fulfilled (or was fulfilled but has not yet been revealed to the public). Bast has already begun to come up with excuses/alternative explanations.

The traffic to my blog surged on the 20th and 21st of December, particularly from Sweden. It is hard to tell how much the media exposure of me those two days contributed to the increased activity. However, it dropped rapidly in the following week, apart from an old post that got many hits because someone wants to capitalize on the 2012-phenomenon. So far, this tendency mirrors that of Calleman’s failed prophecy in 2011.

I have now also compiled a rough outline of a book based on my blog posts. The book will focus on the blog as a medium in public archaeology. The text is in its current state 139 pages A4-pages long (84,000 words) but it will be drastically reduced when I begin to edit it. I will also include some of the 2000+ comments from people on the blog to illustrate various aspects of the phenomenon.


Responses

  1. Ditto on blog traffic.

  2. I think a lot of people did not come out yet
    from their underground bunkers.

  3. C’mon Johan – the excuses/alternative explanations are up to 5 years old, I didn’t just “come up” with them. And they do make sense, at least to me. Nobody in our history has correctly predicted a solar storm or return of a long-period comet, so to expect an ancient culture to get it right to the day of even the minute is ludicrous. A killer solar storm tomorrow? – I’d credit the Maya with predicting it or at least handing down the date to us.

    • Sorry – above is from Rob Bast, got his day job confused with his night job

  4. I know they are old so why even try to pinpoint a date for the end of the world? The Maya has never predicted anything like that.

  5. I was afraid my eyes and teeth would fall out, but fortunately they are still inside my skull where they belong. Although I had a close call, a few days later, when some friends gave me a bag of nuts for Christmas and I bit into them with a weak tooth.

    The Tikal temple getting damaged (irreparably, according to the article) by tourists is just the sort of thing I thought would happen. It’s really disgusting, that these “spiritual” travelers showed so little reverence for the real Mayan heritage.

  6. [...] 2012: What will happen on this blog in the next six months, Johan Normark Once I began to write about the 2012-phenomenon I decided that I should cover it a while after the “end date” as well. I believe that the time around the summer solstice 2013 will mark the end of my continuous coverage of this phenomenon (but who knows?). I will most likely cover events that occurred around the 21st of December, such as the way Temple II at Tikal was partly destroyed by people. However, primarily I will cover the aftermath and how people come up with explanations for why the prophecy was not fulfilled (or was fulfilled but has not yet been revealed to the public). Bast has already begun to come up with excuses/alternative explanations. [...]


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

