Posted by: Johan Normark | March 29, 2009

Reconstructions

I have always been fond of drawing reconstructions of places where I have been working. However, it takes plenty of time so I have not bothered doing it in the past six years. Here are some of my drawings:

El Pilar

El Pilar

This drawing show the two eastern groups at El Pilar in Belize, where I worked in 1998, 2000 and 2001. These groups are called Nohol Pilar and Xaman Pilar and are seen from northwest.

Plaza Copal

Plaza Copal

At Nohol Pilar we find Plaza Copal. The 30 m wide Bryan and Murphy Causeway enters/exits the plaza through a ramp/or stairs. The parapets of the causeway probably worked as water management features.To the far right or south is Plaza Axcanan.

Small acropolis at Sacalaca

Small acropolis at Sacalaca

My last drawing (from 2003) depicts the acropolis at Sacalaca in Quintana Roo, Mexico. We excavated a test pit in the plaza directly below the rangestructure’s stairway.

Categories

