Posted by: Johan Normark | March 31, 2009

Caught Somewhere in Time

Five years have passed since I defended my Licentiate thesis Caught Somewhere in Time: Polyagentive Archaeology in the Maya Lowlands. The book was about the crucial importance of time in archaeology, which I have discussed in some earlier posts. I took the title from a song by Iron Maiden’s 1986 album Somewhere in Time. It is not my favorite Maiden song (that would be For the Greater Good of God), but it fit the contents of my thesis pretty well.  Anyway, I believe my old thesis is one of very few academic theses beginning with a song composed by Steve Harris.

Responses

  1. Nice Blog!

    • Moose, thanks for your kind comment.

  2. You could have done a lot worse -up the Irons! (My fav is probably 2 Minutes to Midnight or Running free)

    //Magnus Reuterdahl

    • Hallowed be thy name is probably my all-time Maiden favorite, but I believe For the Greater Good of God is their best song this decade. Anyway, I should follow your’s and Åsa’s challenge and present 12 songs (or 13 as that would be more apt for a Mayanist). Give me some time and I think about which ones have meant most to me (probably a lot of NWBHM and some German metal bands).

  3. That sounds like a great idea, I’ll be waiting!

    Magnus


Categories

