Posted by: Johan Normark | April 1, 2009

Some final reconstructions

Here are some of my old reconstructions of El Pilar again. First we have Plaza Axcanan, the southernmost plaza at El Pilar.

Plaza Axcanan

Plaza Axcanan

We continue withXaman Pilar, an acropolis with several enclosed plazas. From EP 20 one has a stunning view towards Guatemala and Pilar Poniente.

Xaman Pilar

Xaman Pilar

The last reconstruction is a view of the internal rooms of Structure 1 at the plazuela group Tzunu’un where I worked in 1998 (somewhere I do have a reconstruction of the whole group so I may post that once I add more flesh on my future El Pilar/Belize post(s)).

Structure 1 at Tzunu'un

Structure 1 at Tzunu'un

One more drawing remains but it is my drawing of a donut shaped stone that may have been used as a weight for digging sticks. It has a “ballcourt-in-profile” decoration.

Donut shaped artifact

Donut shaped artifact

Categories

