Posted by: Johan Normark | May 8, 2009

The new Seven (sorry Eight) Wonders of the World – the Khufu Pyramid

In 2007 the “winners” of the completely non-important new list of Seven Wonders of the World was announced. The list is somewhat strange, some of the wonders are single buildings/statue, others are whole sites. The list includes the Great Wall of China, Petra (Jordan), Christ the Redeemer (Rio de Janeiro in Brazil), Macchu Picchu (Peru), Chichen Itza (Mexico), Colosseum (Rome, Italy), Taj Mahal (Agra, India), and the Pyramid of Cheops (Cairo, Egypt) was given an honorific position (meaning that the list of seven wonders actually is eight).

As mentioned in an earlier post, I do not regard the Great Wall of China as worthy of a place on this list because it is not an architectural wonder, it is just long. The Christ statue in Rio seems to be completely misplaced in my view and I do not regard whole sites (Macchu Picchu, Chichen Itza, and Petra) as wonders (if we are to follow the ancient list that only included single architectural features).

Never mind, I have seen five of these eight wonders (I have not been to Petra, Rio de Janeiro and Macchu Picchu). Since I have already mentioned the Great Wall of China, which is the latest of these “wonders” that I have visited, I continue here with the first one I visited back in 1990, just a few month before Operation Desert Storm when all trips to Egypt ended. This is of course the Pyramid of Cheops (Khufu) at Giza, a suburb to Cairo.

This first picture shows the three main pyramids of the Giza necropolis, from left to right: Cheops (Khufu), Chephren (Khafre), and Mykerinos (Menkaure). I keep the Greek names for convenience. All three pyramids are from the fourth dynasty.

scan0003

The Cheops pyramid seen from the entrance to the Chephren pyramid (unfortunately the Cheops pyramid was closed at the time of my visit).

scan0002

The nearby Chephren pyramid is slightly better preserved (it has some of its original surface intact on the top, the other pyramids have largely been used as quarries for later constructions). Here one can see the Sphinx and the Valley Temple that once lay next to the Nile. From there the body was transported on a causeway up to the pyramid.

scan0001

Here is me on one of those camels (or rather a dromedary) that takes tourists to view the pyramids in the sunset (the other pictures are morning pictures). Nowadays I totally dislike these kinds of arrangements, but this is me almost twenty years ago. I guess I had another view at that time.

scan0004

Categories

