Posted by: Johan Normark | November 22, 2009

The History Channel and Decoded

Two days ago I got an email from Stephanie Frasco who is working on a project for the History Channel.  They are searching for lead investigators to host a tv series documentary on the topic of American symbology/iconography. It is called Decoded. She asked me to post this link in case anyone reading this blog post is interested to participate. They are looking for a real life Robert Langdon. If you are compatible with Dan Brown, you should contact them. As for myself, I am just a Deleuzian minded guy who attempts to circumscribe the overcoding of the signifying regime (the Dan Brown kind of iconographical analyzes). My decoding is of another sort than they are looking for. I attempt to show that there is no master signifier whereas Langdon is all about finding the master signifier.

 

Responses

  1. What? You mean there is no master signifier?

    Why didn’t you tell me this earlier?

  2. Because I am the master signifier myself and I wanted it to be kept a secret for as long time as possible.

  3. I KNEW IT!

    Yep, it’s all coming together. Well, now the secret is out. I think I will call CNN.

    Have you seen the rest of that film about Chichen? It’s pretty good stuff. Gotta love tourism. Some of the interpretations are pretty amazing.

  4. You better call something more serious like Fox News.

    I’ll have to wait and see the rest until I return from the capital (Stockholm). I will be out of my senses when I return.

  5. The video is a little rough, but definitely an interesting experience. I had no idea that things got that, well, “interesting” at Chichen.

    One of the INAH guards comments in the film that he wants to be nowhere near Chichen when 2012 comes around!

    • Will anyone of us be there in 2012?

      • Well, we will be there until about 11:59 pm on December 31, 2011. Then…

        BOOM!

        Right?

  6. The lunatics believe the KABOOM will occur at 11:11 PM (GMT…) on December 21, 2012. Until then you are quite safe.

    I wonder how many 2012 movies will be produced? There is at least one more to follow – 2012 Supernova… but the budget seems to be considerably lower.


Categories

