Posted by: Johan Normark | January 7, 2010

2012: My 2012 book project

Blogging takes some time but unfortunately it is so far not a major qualification in the CV. Published books and articles are such merits. Hence I have begun to rethink my blogging on the 2012 circus. Originally I did not intend to make much out of it, just a few posts on the phenomenon. Now I have written 28 posts on the subject and I realize that my own interest in the 2012 phenomenon is greater than I expected (also add several comments on 2012 forums). I have therefore decided to rewrite my posts (and add future ones) into a larger framework that also includes Mel Gibson’s movie Apocalypto.

In short, the framework is how the ancient and contemporary Maya are being used in media and non-academic discourse as an example of success and ultimate collapse of apocalyptic dimensions (often related to our own climate problems, social, political, and religious transformations, etc.). In other words, I am interested in how a Christian apocalyptic and millenarian discourse overcodes Mayanist research. Deleuze and Guattari’s regimes of signs will be a major source of influence for analyzing these processes. Hopefully the book will be published in 2011 or early 2012 (one academic publisher has shown interest in the project but I need to get financial support to get it printed). I have not come up with the title yet but something like Millenarianism and the Maya: How to overcode academic research with ethnocentrism will do.

Responses

  1. Great idea. One thing I like about blogging is that you get into the habit of writing small things down which makes you process them better. Before you know it you realize you have already started a project without even noticing…

    Looking forward to it

  2. Yes, I have noticed that I compress the ideas better on the blog than in longer articles. Let me see if I can compress the book into my estimated 100-125 A5 pages. I wish I had more time since I am working on two other books as well (which are given priority).

  3. Now you’re just giving me angst…

  4. Watch up for a possible problem along the way: a “Biblical scholar” have made a mathematical analysis of the Bible texts and found out that May 21st, 2011, is the critical day. He does not believe in that Maya stuff.

    What can we say? “Better luck this time”? He made an earlier calculation saying that September 6, 1994 was the day for the Lord to end the world. OK, that was a mistake, but some people still thinks he is correct this time. Personally, I think that just saying that the world will end “any day in the future” is a more accurate forecast, in view of all the unknown parameters. (Have been involved in forecasting myself, and most of it generally is bl-y guesswork!)

    http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2010/01/01/BA8V1AV589.DTL&feed=rss.news

    • The world will indeed end any day in the future. I guess we have a couple of billion years to go for this planet. The Biblical scholars do not really have that perspective, they think everything will happen in their lifetime.

  5. “In short, the framework is how the ancient and contemporary Maya are being used in media and non-academic discourse as an example of success and ultimate collapse of apocalyptic dimensions (often related to our own climate problems, social, political, and religious transformations, etc.).”

    Remember also that even academics like Jared Diamond knowingly or unknowingly fall into that trap in his Collapse book.

  6. Johan;

    Good luck with your book projects! I look forward to them.

    Bill.

  7. I wonder how many anti-2012 books that will appear in 2012? Few of them will make the connection to Apocalypto though and see the circus from my point of view.


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

