Posted by: Johan Normark | February 4, 2010

2012: Mel Gibson is part of the conspiracy

A while ago I wrote a blog post on conspiracy related to the 2012 circus. My plan was to write about some of the 2012 conspiracy theorists but I never made it back then. My plan nowadays is to write up a book on how the 2012 circus basically is an ethnocentric soup with some creationist and pseudoscientific ingredients spiced up with conspiracy theory. I will also compare the circus with that of Apocalypto as it also includes some of the ingredients of the soup. Imagine my surprise then, when I read on Bast’s blog that Mel Gibson probably is part of the 2012 conspiracy. I need not do much research on my book, the 2012ers write it for me.

Mad Max

Basically Bast says that Gibson has tried to improve his image in recent years but yesterday he flipped out and called a reporter an asshole. Bast entertains the idea that he flipped out because “he just find out something new about 2012.” Now, part of the 2012 conspiracy is the idea that governments know what will happen in 2012 but they are keeping that knowledge a secret. Since some movie stars and other stars hang out with world leaders they may also know about this conspiracy. Hence Bast lists the possibilities that Gibson is part of the conspiracy:

  • Very knowledgeable about 2012 – he made Apocalypto [Well, Apocalypto is not really about 2012 but it includes similar Christian apocalyptic ideas that reflects ethnocentric ideas. I am also knowledgeable about 2012 and Apocalypto so that would make me part of conspiracy as well. By this logic Oliver Stone was also part of the conspiracy that killed Kennedy since he appears to be so knowledgeable about the murder in his JFK movie]
  • Knowledgeable about conspiracy theories – he starred in Conspiracy Theory [I also do know something about conspiracy theories, and so do Bast apparantly, so maybe both of us are part of the conspiracy]
  • Political connections – has met with the president of Costa Rica [Could he not meet another world leader? Costa Rica is not really the major player in the world. However, I have met the Swedish king, our head of the state, so that means that I am also part of the conspiracy]
  • Has sold $60 million of property in the last 2 years [Of course, selling properties indicates that you know about an upcoming disaster. Unfortunately I do not have that kind of money, so I am perhaps not part of the conspiracy after all]
  • Has a safe spot – recently purchased a $25.8m ranch in Costa Rica (although its location by the sea would negate many 2012 doom theories) [How can this be a “safe spot” then? Tsunamis would sweep that ranch away in a few seconds. My apartment is not far from the Göta River in Göteborg. This river would easily flood during a tsunami. I guess I also have a safe spot]
  • His production company logo looks a bit like an upside down pyramid with an Illuminati eye [The illuminati again, I thought it was Lady Gaga who was the illuminati puppet]

From the list we can conclude that many of us can be part of the conspiracy. If you know something about the Maya, know something about 2012, have political connections, have sold properties, have a safe spot, have a logo with an eye, etc. you are probably a conspirator yourself. Here are some other indications that Gibson is part of the conspiracy:

He made the Mad Max movies which are post-apocalyptic movies. Gibson also sponsored Hansen’s project at El Mirador. This site has gigantic bunkers (pyramids for those of you not familiar with Bast’s pyramid interpretations).  

Responses

  1. 2012 + Mel Gibson + Lady Gaga? Everything gets more and more clear day by day.

    • More will be revealed later on. I am sure we can squeeze in a couple of other famous people as well. Tom Cruise and John Travolta are for sure part of the alien conspiracy.

      • I can’t forget the fact that you are the master signifier. Which means, ultimately, that you knew about this all along.

      • I am the Despot and all of you are my puppets.

  2. “2012: Time for Change”
    projects a radical alternative to apocalyptic doom and gloom. Directed by Emmy Award nominee Joao Amorim, the film follows journalist Daniel Pinchbeck, author of the bestselling 2012: The Return of Quetzalcoatl, on a quest for a new paradigm that integrates the archaic wisdom of tribal cultures with the scientific method. As conscious agents of evolution, we can redesign post-industrial society on ecological principles to make a world that works for all. Rather than breakdown and barbarism, 2012 will herald the birth of a regenerative planetary culture, where collaboration replaces competition, where exploration of psyche and spirit becomes the new cutting edge, replacing the sterile materialism that has pushed our world to the brink.

    Interviews with design scientists, anthropologists, physicists such as Dean Radin, Barbara Marx Hubbard, John Todd and Paul Stamets and celebrities such as Sting, Ellen Page and Gilberto Gil.
    http://www.2012timeforchange.com/

    • You again? Same same but different?

  3. Johan – I said at the start of my blog post “Note: this is pure speculation, or even could be classed as fantasy!”. I don’t believe for a minute that Mel has anything to do with 2012. I was just using him as an example of the type of clues one might look for, if someone famous is in on the 2012 conspiracy. And for the record, I don’t think there is a conspiracy. Many things I write do not reflect my own beliefs, but I cover them because 2012 could be anything, nobody knows what for sure…

  4. The 2012 phenomenon is based on pure speculation in the first place. Some speculates more than others. From that perspective 2012 could be anything you wish for. However, from a scientific point of view it cannot be anything. You need to ground your ideas in some coherent frame that makes sense. Otherwise it is pseudoscience. I think I will translate my fellow blogger Geobastard’s recent post on what characterizes pseudoscience (and particularly the 2012 circus):

    Use of vague, exaggerated or untestable claims
    Over-reliance on confirmation rather than refutation
    Lack of openness to testing by other experts
    Absence of progress
    Personalization of issues
    Use of misleading language

    http://geobastard.wordpress.com/2010/02/02/pseudovetenskap-vs-vetenskap-del-2/

  5. You are the BEST source of info about the 2012 “circus”. It’s my favorite part – the circus.
    I needed a blog idea so I went straight to Archaeological Haecceities (I’m even learning to spell it without cheating). Patrick Geryl. Wonderful. Thanks for the tip.

  6. Sorry, I’d love to rant on in an arcane way, but frankly your entire post (and I love the comments) just has me LMAO. Great job! :)

  7. I’ll try my best. The 2012ers give me some entertaining material.

  8. According to your rule, I’m part of the conspiracy:

    I know a lot about what’s happening in 2012, who really rules the World (the Symposium), and who really built the pyramids (some aliens, obviously).

    All the fake 2012ers are people used by the Symposium to hidden the truth covering everything with a mist of stupidity

    • Indeed, you are part of the conspiracy without knowing it. The Symposium has fooled you.

  9. Maybe. The Symposium has a great power. They rules the World…

    But I’m very clever, too ;)

  10. Good luck in writing your book!!

  11. I have decided not to write a book after all, but I will write an article for an academic journal.


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

