Posted by: Johan Normark | May 17, 2010

Requiescat in pace Dio

One of the best singers and most influential persons in Heavy Metal has died from cancer at the age of 67 years. Ronnie James Dio participated in several bands: Elf, Rainbow, Black Sabbath and his own band Dio. From an “archaeological” perspective he created several epic songs about past cities and “civilizations” (from a quite mythic perspective I may add). His songs about Babylon and Egypt influenced my early interests in archaeology and ancient history. Gates of Babylon became part of one of this blog’s most popular non-2012 posts created a year ago. R.I.P. Dio.

Responses

  1. Form Black sabathe Right?

    I remember “Haven and Hell” Lonely night Lonely night Heaven and hell~~~~

    He still alive Don’t worry!!

  2. Dio replaced Ozzy in Black Sabbath. Later in life he toured with his former colleagues in Black Sabbath under the name Heaven and Hell.

  3. He is now a legend more than he was in life.

    As a child I first saw Dio in a litlte clip that would play on the ABC as a filler in the afternoons sometimes. It was called ‘The Butterfly Ball’ and featured a young Dio, before he ventured into Heavy Metal.

    Then when I became a teenager I grew up listening to the album Heaven & Hell, I wore out the tape I played it so much. We’d argue among ourselves who was the better front man for Sabbath, Dio or Ozzy.

    Recently I was pleasantly surprised to see him in the movie “Pick of Destiny”.

    I am glad you posted Egypt (the Chains are On) as this was one of the first songs I learned to play in my first band.

    Little did I know I’d later become obsessed with ancient Egypt.

    Thank you Dio!

  4. I wonder why there are not that many metal songs about the Maya (cannot think of anyone right now). Apocalypto should have triggered some songs.


Categories

