Posted by: Johan Normark | November 10, 2010

Gysinge

I am really slow in downloading photos from my camera. For instance, a few days ago I finally downloaded photos from the period after my return from fieldwork in July. During the later part of the past summer my wife, son and I visited two of my brothers and their families in Västerås and my parents in Sandviken. These places are located in the central part of Sweden (Göteborg is located in the southwest part). I grew up in the municipality of Sandviken in the province of Gästrikland and moved to Göteborg in 1994 when I began my full-time university studies.

Dalälven

On the way between Västerås and Sandviken we passed by Gysinge Bruk which was Gästrikland’s largest ironworks until the end of the 19th century. It lies along the banks of Dalaälven, one of Sweden’s largest rivers. The ironworks was founded in 1668 when Peder Swensson Printz was allowed to construct a furnace at the place. The accessibility of water power and forest made it an ideal place. The furnace was renovated in 1822.

The furnace

The new mansion at Gysinge was built 1832-1840.

The new mansion

Categories

