Posted by: Johan Normark | February 6, 2011

R.I.P. Bruce and Gary

During the weekend some of my US contacts on Facebook mentioned that the well known Mayanist Bruce Dahlin has passed away. He has contributed with interesting research at several important Maya sites (for example El Mirador and Chunchucmil), the function of chultuns, economic issues, ecology, etc. I met him only once when he visited the 4th of July party at Saban when CRAS hosted the party in 2005.

Today one of my teenage idols also passed away. Gary Moore’s recordings with Thin Lizzy but particularly his early solo albums (before Still Got the Blues), was often played on my stereo during the late 1980s and early 1990s. My favorite song is probably Blood of Emeralds from 1989.

Categories

