Posted by: Johan Normark | January 18, 2012

CRAS is ready for a new season

I have been affiliated with the Cochuah Regional Archaeological Survey (CRAS) since 2003. This has resulted in five field seasons for me (2003, 2004, 2005, 2008 and 2010). The fieldwork has given me data for my dissertation project on causeways and my postdoctoral project on caves and climate change. I have designed my new project on water as an archaeological object in a way that does not need any fieldwork. However, CRAS moves on and one of the principal investigators, Justine Shaw, let me know today that they have received permission from INAH to continue with the excavation and mapping of several sites, including some of the cave sites that are part of my research. I wish I could join them but it will be difficult to squeeze in a field season for me this year for several reasons. If so, it would only be possible for less than two weeks. I wish them good luck and look forward to the report. This means that I’ll have to wait for this new data before I can publish my book on the caves. My three upcoming articles can still be sent away since they do not cover the same issues.

X marks the spot(s) or Dos Equis (not the favored beer among archaeologists though)

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

