Posted by: Johan Normark | March 6, 2013

The necromantic ordering of days and other stuff

As you may notice I am not blogging very often these days but I thought I should provide a brief summary of what I am currently doing. There are two reasons for my absence; I did not just loose interest in the 2012-circus at the beginning of this year, I also lost interest in blogging in general. Internet (the blog and facebook in particular) takes more time than it deserves. The second reason is that I am currently writing articles for two anthologies, doing the final editing of roughly ten other articles for various journals (and other anthologies), two book proposals, preparing a couple of speeches, and writing a new project application. The project has been given the tentative title of “The necromantic ordering of days”. Here is the introduction in its current state:

“Now that the supposed “end date” of the Maya Long Count calendar has passed and its associated New Age- and “end-of-the-world” hype have diminished since December 21, 2012 (Normark 2013), one ought to take a closer look at the foundations of that said calendar. As Birth (2012) says, a calendar is a necromantic device. It is an object formed by people, long dead, but whose contributions affect temporalities long time thereafter, even in recent years in the case of the “2012-phenomenon.” The Maya calendar(s) were designed to order the days, i.e. the passing of time.”


Responses

  1. Articles like this one make a person want to sit down and have a good, long cry:

    Maya-Aztec Calendar Myths Ring True
    http://anthrojournal.com/issue/october-2011/article/maya-aztec-calendar-myths-ring-true

    • I took a look at it this morning and I almost cried. A facepalm was enough.


Categories

