Posted by: Johan Normark | May 8, 2013

Summary of some of my articles

Apart from publishing some of my texts and ideas on this blog I have also some pdf texts available online (at Academia.edu). Here is a short summary of the texts that you will find at that site.

My dissertation thesis deals with causeways (sacbeob) at Ichmul and Yo’okop. I discuss them from what I previously termed “polyagentive archaeology” (nowadays it is “neorealistic archaeology”). Polyagents are also discussed in my Licentiate thesis and in an article on warfare where I developed my idea of virtual logics and actual ideologies. An earlier article dealt with causeways from a similar approach although I did not use the term polyagent (as far as I remember).

Ethnicity has been discussed in two articles. One treats it from the perspective of the contemporary Maya movement and Mayanist research (the word polyagent is used a couple of times). The other deals with past ethnicity with the site of Nohcacab as an example where we find Sotuta ceramics (sometimes affiliated with Chichen Itza).

Gender has been an issue in two of my texts. In my first monograph I discussed if some of the tzolkin dates associated with women at Yaxchilan could have been genderized as is the case among contemporary Kiche. One of my recent articles deal with “warrior queens” and the road of life for past human agents. Here I make use of Deleuzian/Protevian ideas. Somewhat related to gender is an article about the senses and a study of the Face in Maya iconography.

For the 2012ers I do have a short article on the Bosnian pyramid inventor Osmanagic. Related to the Maya calendar is an old article on what I termed Baktuniarism as a form of millenniarism among the ancient Maya.

You will also find links to some of my field reports from the Cochuah region (2003, 2004, 2005, 2008) and El Pilar in Belize (2001) and five popularized articles in Swedish. These deals with water, causeways, caves, the way the Maya are conceptualized, the Maya collapse and climate change. There are also two unpublished texts. One deals with Maya iconography as a cognitive device and the other deals with water as an archaeological object.

As you may notice, some of my articles at Academia.edu are not available because they have been published in peer-reviewed journals that charge quite a lot for open access. I need to check the contracts I signed for these articles. I may actually be available to publish them online now…


Responses

  1. This question can be answered by looking not only at the Maya codices, but by including the records found on Maya architecture and pottery, as discussed above. The data we currently have about Maya codices suggest that although very solid connections have been made between the papermaking skills of the Otomi and those of the ancient Maya, few if any researchers have attempted to recreate a Maya codex from scratch, as it were. Western scholars have tended to focus on the codices as texts, privileging the information to be found on their pages over the codices as artifacts themselves. There seems not to be a similar disjuncture with regard to Maya architecture, where the structure and materials of construction are given as much attention as the glyphs carved into buildings, nor is this disjuncture seen in the study of Maya pottery, where the form and function of vessels are studied by linking the writing on them to their structures and intended uses.

  2. This was classified as spam and it for sure is not related to the blog post although it is about the Maya.


Categories

